The History of the Belle Tout Lighthouse
Circa 1691, petitions for a lighthouse were made due to the number of shipwrecks and sailors losing their lives at the hands of this dangerous stretch of coastline.
In 1828 as a continuing result of many shipwrecks, a wooden lighthouse was built on the top of the cliffs at Beachy Head. So successful was this that the decision was made to build a permanent lighthouse.
Belle Tout was built in 1832 out of Aberdeen granite and conveyed by ox teams from Maidstone.
The Belle Tout Lighthouse came into operation on the 11th October 1834 and was manned around the clock by two lighthouse keepers.
The location of the lighthouse was carefully planned so that the light was visible for 20 miles out to sea and that the light would be obscured by the edge of the cliff if sailors were too close to the shore.
Over the years erosion of the cliff reduced the effectiveness of the lighthouse and Trinity House were worried about its close proximity to the cliff to be a danger to its own keepers.
A new lighthouse was built at the base of the cliffs at Beachy Head.
In 1902 the Belle Tout Lighthouse was formerly decommissioned.
In 1903 it was sold by Trinity House, was bought by the Davis-Gilbert family and opened as a team room.
In 1923 it was bought by a surgeon, Sir James Purves-Stewart.
During the second world war with its owners being evacuated, Belle Tout was damaged due to shelling by Canadian Troops using it as target practice.
In 1948 Sir James offered the building to the council and eventually they took it over due to its historical significance.
In 1956 Belle Tout was leased out to Dr Edward Revill Cullinan who carried out works on the building and installed modern features such as septic tank, mains electricity and water.
In 1962 the lease was sold and changed hands a number of times.
In 1986 it was bought by the BBC who used it in the making of Fay Weldon’s “Life and Loves of a She-Devil”.
In 1996 it was bought by Mark and Louise Roberts to use as a family home.
In 1999, due to continuing erosion threatening the future of the building the lighthouse was moved 17 metres (56 feet) back from the edge of the cliff by the impressive engineering work of Abbey Pynford.
In 2007 the Roberts' put Belle Tout up for sale with the guide price of £850,000.
In 2007 the Belle Tout Lighthouse Preservation Trust campaigned for Belle Tout to be made available to the public so that anyone could visit and stay at the lighthouse.
In April 2008 Belle Tout was purchased by David and Barbara Shaw with the intention of opening it to the public as a bed & breakfast and hotel.
Between 2008 and 2010 Belle Tout was lovingly restored to its former glory.
In March 2010, The Belle Tout Lighthouse opens its doors to guests.
In January and July 2010, The Belle Tout lighthouse appeared on Build a New Life in the Country.
The Belle Tout Builder Boys charity calendar was released to raise money for Everyman charity.
In July 2020, Belle Tout celebrated ten years of welcoming guests to experience the delights of the historic Belle Tout Lighthouse.
The Belle Tout Lighthouse Unique Bed and Breakfast, a wonderful place to stay
Book your stay at the Belle Tout and experience for yourself the wonder of the Belle Tout Lighthouse and Beachy Head.
"A magical place, didn’t want to leave"
One night stays
We operate a minimum two night stay policy, however, providing there is availability, one night stays may be available within a week of the proposed date of stay.
Contact us a week before to check.
Booking in advance
To avoid disappointment for anniversaries, birthday and honeymoon celebrations, we recommend you book well in advance. We are taking bookings for this year and next year so please book as early as you can.